SCI Homepage

Front Page

1998-99 Conference

Call for Scores

CD Series

Members' Activities

Return to the
University of Iowa


1999 National Conference
Region I Conference
Region III Conference
Region V Conference
Region VIII Conference

1999 National Conference

161 composers submitted scores for performance consideration as part of the 34th National Conference. This conference, the first of its kind, will be co-hosted between three institutions: Mannes College of Music, Dean Joel Lester, host; New York University, Dinu Ghezzo, host and Queens College, Hubert Howe, host.

Below is a tentative schedule, worked out at a recent meeting at the SCI offices in NY. Many thanks go to four new graduate students at the University of Iowa, who spent about 16 hours over a 2 day period processing each score, creating a database and preparing boxes to be mailed off to New York: Rob Bennett, J. J. Hudson, Albin Jones, and Shin-Jung Kim.

At the time we went to press, all scores have been put in the hands of the hosts. Their decisions (based on performer and ensemble availability) should be complete by the middle of October, with parts due from the chosen composers by November 15. The conference fee will be set at $100, with additional itemized charges for various lunches, dinners and bus transportation to and from Manhattan and Queens College. David McMullin will be the central on-site coordinator at each location. Finally, we have identified three hotels for people to phone and make reservations, and will publish that information in forthcoming newsletters.

Thursday, April 22, 1999
The Mannes College of Music,
Joel Lester, host

1:00-5:00 pm, Panel Discussions, TBA

8:00 pm, Concert I
Madeleine Shapiro and James Preiss, directors

Friday, April 23
New York University
Department of Music & Performing Arts
Dinu Ghezzo, host

1:00 pm, Concert II
2:30 pm, Concert III
4:00 pm, Concert IV
5:30 pm, Banquet
8:00 pm, Concert V
Reception to follow

Saturday, April 24
Queens College of CUNY
Hubert Howe, host

10:00 am, Concert VI
1:00 pm, Concert VII
2:00 pm, Paper Sessions
3:00 pm, Concert VIII
4:30 pm, SCI Membership Meeting
8:00 pm, Concert IX
10:00 pm, Concert X

Sunday, April 25
Queens College of CUNY
Hubert Howe, host

10:00 am, Concert XI
1:00 pm, Concert XII

Region I Conference

Connecticut College
November 19-21, 1998
Noel Zahler, host

November 19th and 20th will be filled with concerts, papers and panel sessions featuring performances by: The Connecticut College Chamber Players, The Connecticut College Chamber Choir, The Charleston String Quartet, The Center for New Music at the University of Iowa, and The Coast Guard Band. Compositions by: Pierre Boulez, Mario Davidovsky, Bernard Rands, William Albright, Michael Daugherty, David Gompper, Noel Zahler, Augusta Read Thomas, Greg Mertl, Mikel Kuehn, Scott Brickman, Geoffrey Kidde, Kenneth Benoit, Robert Lemay, Beth Wiemann, Jim McManus, Brian Field, Gerald Gabel, Brian Bevelander, Paul Yeon Lee, Timothy Kramer, Ann Kearns, Stephen Gryc, Ching-chu Hu, James Nang-Hssen Ho, Arlene Zallman, Judd Danby, William Ryan, Paul Steinberg, Betty Wishart, Enid Sutherland, Elizabeth Vercoe, Brian Fennelly, John Crawford, Janice Misurell Mitchell, Jan Krzywicki, Linda Dusman.

Saturday, November 21, 1998

10:00 a.m. Boulez in an informal meeting with students (open to the public); questions and answers.

11:15 a.m. Open rehearsal of Boulez's compositions to be performed in his honor at the evening concert; Pierre Boulez, Michael Adelson, The Connecticut College Chamber Players.

2:00 p.m. Round Table Discussion: Pierre Boulez, Mario Davidovsky, Paul Griffiths, Bernard Rands; Noel Zahler, moderator.

4:00 p.m. Electro-acoustics in the performance of Anthime II, Andrew Gerzso (IRCAM).

8:00 p.m. A Musical Celebration of Pierre Boulez; The Connecticut College Chamber Players.
Antheme II (U.S. premiere), derive, Notations, memoriale (...explosante-fixe...original), Le marteau sans maitre.

Region III Conference

Christopher Newport University
October 30-31, 1998
Jennifer Barker, host

Christopher Newport University (Virginia's newest state university) will be hosting the 1998 SCI Region III Conference on Friday 30th and Saturday 31st of October. Twenty-eight works by composers from around the United States and Hong Kong will be performed by members of the Virginia Symphony and the Virginia Opera, CNU faculty and students, members of the USAF Heritage of America Band, and visiting guests. Two papers will also be presented. The Department of Music would like to extend an invitation to all SCI members within travelling distance to join us in the beautiful Tidewater resort area for two days of musical adventures, sun and sea. For more information and a conference brochure please contact: Dr. Jennifer Barker Director of Theory/Composition, Christopher Newport University, 1 University Place, Newport News, VA 23606-2998, email:, fax: (757) 594-7389.

Region V Conference

Indiana State University
Terre Haute, Indiana
November 13-14, 1998
Daniel McCarthy, host

On November 13 and 14, 29 composers and 243 performers will come to the campus of Indiana State University for the Society of Composers, Inc. Region V Conference '98. Last April, 247 scores were recieved from 157 composers for the SCI Region V Conference '98. From this call the works of 29 composers were selected for performances in Indiana State University's new Center for Performing and Fine Arts. The participating composers at the conference will be:

Mary Jeanne van Appledorn, Brian Bevelander, Zack Browning, Sue Dellinger, Andrew Dionne, Michael Edgerton, Tom Flaherty, David Gillingham, Bruce Hamilton, Daniel Hosken, Michael Kallstrom, Mikel Kuehn, Hye Kyung Lee, Robert Lemany, James Lentini, Edward Mallet, Daniel McCarthy, Zae Munn, Carter Pann, Peter D. Pecere, Daniel Poswers, Jeffrey Radcliffe, Eric Santos, Rob Smith, Ralph Turek, and James Waters.

Samuel Adler will be the principal guest composer and keynote speaker at the conference. Dr. Gary Nelson (Oberlin College) will present the lecture/recital, "Mathematical Models for Musical Composition." A banquet is scheduled on the 9th floor of the Hulman Memorial Student Center for Saturday, November 14, 1998 at 5:30 p.m., prior to the final concert.

The conference will consist of seven concerts, one lecture/recital, the keynote address, a group discussion, and a meeting of the SCI Region V officers. Featured performances will be given by the ISU Symphonic Wind Ensemble and Festival Chorus (Dr. Richard Zielinski, conductor), ISU faculty Brass and Woodwind Quintets, The ISU Percussion Ensemble (Dr. Jimmy Finnie, conductor), ISU faculty and students, Vigo North High School Counterpoints (Steve McDaniel conducting), Vision Saxophone Quartet, and other distiquished performers from around the country.

There is still time to register if you wish to attend the concert and banquet. Please contact: Ms. Julie Bledsoe, Director, Conferences and Non-Credit Programs, 233 Erickson Hall, Indiana State University, Terre Haute, IN 47809; tel (812)237-2346 or 1-800-234-1639; fax (812)237-2525; e-mail:

Region VIII Conference

University of Montana
November 20-21, 1998
Patrick Williams, host

The Department of Music at The University of Montana is pleased to announce the selection for performance of works by the following composers at the 1998 SCI Region VIII conference, 20-21 November: Brian Belet, Randy Earles, Tayloe Harding, John W. Marvin, William Price, Maurice Saylor, Greg A. Steinke, Karen A. Tarlow and M.J. van Appledorn.

We look forward to a wonderful series of concerts and presentations and offer a warm Montana welcome to all.

If you wish further information regarding the conference, please contact: Professor Patrick C. Williams, Co-Chair SCI Region VIII, Music Department, The University of Montana, Missoula, MT 59812; e-mail: