SCI Homepage
Front Page
Call for Scores

Return to the
University of Iowa

SCI 1998 National Conference
Tuesday, April 14 through Saturday, April 18

Tuesday | Wednesday | Thursday | Friday | Saturday |

Program of Events

Tuesday, April 14, 1998

8 pm. Auer Hall: Indiana University Composition Department Student Recital

Wednesday, April 15, 1998

10 am. Rooms TBA: Paper Sessions
Orlando Legname: "Density Degree of Intervals and Chords"
David Fuentes: "The Universal System of Composing with Beats: What We All Do"
Keith Allan Kramer: "The Rudhyar/Crawford Connection of Linear Prolongation and Proportionality"
Robert Peck: "Interpretation Through Analysis of Shulamit RanŐs Fantasy Variations for Violoncello"

1 pm. Recital Hall: Concert I
Yang Yong, Vera Stanojevic, Bryan Burkett. S.M. Clark, Jerome Miskell,
David Gompper, Marc Satterwhite, Donald Harris, Roger Briggs

3 pm. Room TBA: Video Presentation
Reynold Weidenaar: Magic Music from the Telharmonium

4 pm. Recital Hall: Concert II
Judith Lang Zaimont, Martin Rokeach, John Elmquist, Orlando Garcia,
Laura Hoffman, Scott Brickman, Janice Misurell-Mitchell, Robert Patterson,
Natasha Bog, Donald Hagar

8 pm. Musical Arts Center: Concert III
Indiana University Symphony Orchestra
Richard Brooks, John C. Ross, David Baker, Donald Erb

Thursday, April 16, 1998

9 am. Rooms TBA: Paper Sessions
Mike Woods: "Jazz and Abstract Truth"
Mikel Kuehn: "Aspects of Structure as Compositional Determinants in Milton Babbitt's
Phenomena for Soprano and Synthesized Tape"
Ulf Grahn: "The rebirth of Symphonic writing in Sweden"
Sam Magrill: "The Electric Collection: Preserving Music Made in Studios that No Longer Exist"

9 am. Room TBA: Committee on Women and Minorities Meeting
Marshall Bialosky, chair

9-10:30 am. Room TBA: Panel: "Audio and Music on the Web" (Judd Danby, David Gompper,
Roger Johnson, & Thomas Wells)

10:30-12:00 am. Room TBA: Panel: "Composer as Performer"
(James Chaudoir, Betty Wishart, Douglas Ovens, Michael Kallstrom)

10:30 am. Room TBA: Electro-Acoustic Music
Judd Danby, Kui Dong, Mikel Kuehn, Tom Lopez, Christopher Preissing,
Bob Sturm, Cleve Scott

1 pm. Auer Hall: Concert IV
Warren Gooch, Robert Lemay, Charles Mason, Larry Nelson, Hilary Tann,
Samuel Pellman, John D. White, Zack Browning

3 pm. Auer Hall: Concert V
Jonathan Chenette, Alfonso Montecino, Fred Cohen, Nancy Wertsch,
Victor Tecayehuatzin, Joe Utterback, Andrea Clearfield, Charles Hoag,
Anthony Barrese, Hayes Biggs

5 pm., MAC: Concert VI
Indiana University Concert Orchestra
Paul Siskind, Andrew Simpson, David Dzubay

7:30 pm. MAC: Keynote Speech by Karel Husa

8:00 pm. MAC: Concert VII
Indiana University Symphonic Band
Lamont Downs, Carlton Macy, Karel Husa,
Indiana University Wind Ensemble
Richard Willis, Jack Gallagher, John Harbison,
Reception for conference registrants following the concert.

Friday, April 17, 1998

8 am. Room TBA: Region V Meeting, James Chaudoir, Chair

9-10:30 am. Panel: "MIDI Demos, and Computer Music Production for CD"
Rob Frank, Larry Austin, Roger Johnston

10 am. Room TBA: Video Presentation
Burton Beerman

10:30 - 11:00 am. Organ Studio Recital
Stephen Gryc, David Vayo

11:15 am. SCI Business Meeting (all members)

1 pm. Auer Hall: Concert VIII
Daniel W. McCarthy, Douglas Ovens, Allen Molineux, Charles Argersinger,
Marilyn Shrude, Brian Bevelander, Mark Phillips

3 pm. Auer Hall: Concert IX
David Taddie, Glenn Gass, Margaret Brouwer, Yuzuru Sadashige, William Albright

5 pm. Auer Hall: Concert X
Indiana University Chamber Orch.
Frank La Rocca, Alice Ho, Yehuda Yannay, Edward J. Miller

8 pm. Auer Hall: Concert XI
IU New Music Ensemble
Ka Nin Chan, Mathew Rosenblum, Augusta Read Thomas, Howard Yermish, Ricardo Zohn-Muldoon
Reception for conference registrants following the concert, sponsored by ASCAP.

Saturday, April 18, 1998

9:30 am. Auer Hall: Concert XII
Morris Rosenzweig, Elliott Schwartz, Bruce Taub, Keith Fitch, Tucker Robinson

10:30 am. Opera Studio, MAC 301: Opera scenes produced by IU Opera Workshop
Larry Austin, John Beall, Larry Christiansen, Donna Kelly Eastman,
Phillip Rhodes, Edwin Penhorwood, Michael Kallstrom

10:30 am. Room TBA: The McLean Mix: "Inside the Time Machine"
Priscilla McLean: In the Beginning
Barton McLean: Happy Days

1 pm. Auer Hall: Concert XIII
IU Contemporary Vocal Ensemble
Dorothy Hindman, Scott Robbins, Herbert Bielawa, Cary Boyce
IU University Singers
Stephen Suber, Lincoln Hanks
IU International Vocal Ensemble
Brent Michael Davids

3 pm. Auer Hall: Concert XIV
Dan Godfrey, Jan Krzywicki, David Heuser, Amos Elkana, Paul Hayden,
James Mobberley, Evan Chambers

5:30 pm. Banquet (reservation and ticket required)

For updated information on the SCI National Conference, check the Conference Web-site