...dedicated to the promotion of composition, performance, understanding and dissemination of new and contemporary music...

Regional Structure

Map of SCI regions

Region 1: ME, NH, VT, CT, MA, MA (NF, NS, NB, PQ, PE)
Region 2: NY, NJ, PR
Region 3: PA, WV, VA, MD, DE, DC
Region 4: AL, FL, GA, KY, LA, MS, NC, SC, TN
Region 5: IN, MI, MN, OH, IL, IA, MN, ND, SD, WI (MB) (ON)
Region 6: AR, KS, MO, NE, OK, TX
Region 7: NV, UT, CO, AZ, NM, HI, CA
Region 8: AK, WA, OR, CA, ID, MT, WY (BC, AB, SK)
Region 9: Areas outside North America

Note that Hawaii is in region 7, Alaska is in region 8, and Puerto Rico is in region 2.

Each region is co-chaired by two members of the National Council. A list of regional officers can be found here.